Skip to main content

General Guidelines for Skilled Nominated Visa Subclass 489

Skilled Regional (Provisional) subclass 489 visa is a 4-year short-term visa supported by the Australian Government for skilled individuals. You need to reside in a provincial sector for a minimum 24 months and work full time for a minimum of 1 year. Only then you can appeal for indefinite citizenship. The aspirants and his/her relatives on this visa must live, work and/or study in a local zone.

When you have fulfilled the requirements for the 489 sponsored visa, you can deposit a request to the Department of Home Affairs (DHA). Visa Subclass 887 will be the best fir to apply for permanent nationality.

Ad interim, you must adhere to the recent trends of the 489 skilled visa until you are acknowledged indefinite nationality.

Registering for the Skilled - Nominated (Provisional) Visa subclass 489

You have to submit an Expression of Interest through Skill select firsthand to register a genuine plea. This can be done in or outside of Australia.

If you get guardianship from a qualified acquaintance and fulfill the basic essentials for this visa, you will then get an Invitation to Apply.

To apply for this visa you must:

1. be asked to appeal

2. be less than 45 years of age when you are fostered to apply

3. recommend a job role that associates with your potential and certifications and is on the genuine Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL) or the Short-term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL)

4. undergo an aptitude examination test conducted by the appropriate board of commissioners as suitable for your nominated occupation

5. have good proficiency in English

6. minimum score of 60 on the Points Test

7. satisfy the health and character essentials


Visa Sponsorship by a State or Territory Government

The probability of getting a positive outcome of a visa application will be decided by the proficiency, professional experience, and recommendation by a State government.

The moment the Provisional visa has been acknowledged, the bearer must preserve that visa for a minimum of two years to be entitled to register for a Regional visa on a permanent basis.

The following States come under the Skilled - Nominated (Provisional) visa guardianship programmer:

  1. New South Wales
  2. Northern Territory
  3. Queensland
  4. South Australia
  5. Tasmania
  6. Western Australia
  7. Victoria

Australian State Sponsored Visa Application Process

The Skilled-Nominated Visa (Provisional) subclass 489 application procedure comprises of the following three stages:

1) First Stage
The first phase of the registration procedure includes going through an aptitude evaluation with the appropriate board of administrators. Your aptitude evaluation allows the Department of Immigration Agent and Border Protection (DIBP) to take a verdict if you have the desired standard of proficiency in your selected job role to earn a living in Australia. 

2) Second Stage
Once you have gone through the aptitude evaluation successfully, you have to deposit an Expression of Interest through Skill Select. You can do this in or outside of Australia. You will also need to apply for state patronage with an Australian state. This will require that you satisfy the guardianship requisites and have executive experience in a rank listed on one of their State Migration Plans. 

3) Third Stage
Once you have been delivered an Invitation To Apply (ITA), you can stick to the DIBP stage of the application, where you can hand over your overall, complete plea to be accepted by DIBP so your visa can be acknowledged. The priority of visa processing is decided by the sequence in which the authority recognizes the pleas irrespective of the time they have been registered. 


Last edited by DrFumblefinger
Original Post