Lockport NY was part of the original Erie Canal. The locks above are part of the new canal (built in 1908). They have a total lift of over 70 feet. The original canal used 5 locks to carry out this same lift. Called the Flight of Five, there were actually two sets of locks, to allow traffic to pass up and down stream simultaneously. One of these sets has been partially restored.