Samantha and her husband Eugene toured six covered bridges in Eugene, Oregon. She shares some pictures of her visit here.
The next covered bridge we visited was the Chambers Railroad Covered Bridge. This is also a Howe truss structure that spans the Coast Fork Willamette River. Not quite as long as the Centennial Bridge, but still a good length at 78 feet long. It was built in 1925 to carry rail traffic that was hauling logs from the Lorane Valley to the lumber mill. The mill was closed due to a fire in 1950 but the bridge still stands today and is the only remaining fully covered railroad bridge west of the Mississippi River.