This will really help on time. As a kid, I took the bus from Santa Monica to Downtown LA a lot and it took forever but it was to be one of the most interesting rides anywhere. It goes through such diverse neighborhoods it almost doesn't seem real.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .