This historic church can trace its roots back to around 1560, when it was built by the Portuguese shortly after their conquest of Goa. The two impressive towers, however, were added much later, in 1764.


The inscription at the top reads ‘N.S.E.’ – short for ‘Nossa Senhora da Esperança’, and a clear reminder of the church’s Portuguese ancestry.

Next to the church is a separate shrine to the Virgin Mary, the ‘Lady of Good Hope’ to whom it is dedicated.

The church’s twin towers are visible from all over Candolim. It is located just a few hundred metres from the town centre on the main Pilerne-Candolim road.









