The New Brunswick Aquarium and Marine Centre Lighthouse at Shippagan occupies the Old Portage Island lighthouse. The lighthouse was built in 1869 on Portage Island, near the village of Burnt Church, and at the entrance of the Miramichi River.
This lighthouse was equipped with a kerosene lamp until the 1950s, when it was replaced by a battery-powered one.
The New Brunswick Aquarium and Marine Centre acquired it in 1986 to restore and move it to its present location in Shippagan, New Brunswick. The restoration and relocation was directed by Donald Boudreau, of the Acadian Historic Village.