Where Gumbo Was #408
Gumbo was at the Chemin Mystérieux (The Mysterious Road) on Pokesudie Island, New Brunswick, Canada.
Pokesudie Island has been overlooked by tourists and under-appreciated by the surrounding areas. Summer mosquitos and missed economic development garner the most attention when Pokesudie makes the conversation or news. But the island is beautiful, has a friendly community and has real mysteries that will keep you searching for answers.
Pokesudie Island was settled by people from Caraquet in around 1818. The tip, Pointe à Marcel, on the southeastern side of the island was named after Marcel LeClerc, one of Pokesudie's first residents. The house on the way to the point belongs to Leclerc's descendants.
During the 1880's, developers and residents wanted to end the rail line there and create a seaport at Pointe à Marcel. That didn't end up happening because Shippagan beat them out by completing their portion of the railway first. Shippagan ended up getting a port in the early 1900's.
One rumor is Pokesudie was picked for a deep-sea port and smelter in the 1960's but political interests moved them to Belledune. For years, many dismissed the claims as just a rumor, but many residents of Pokesudie and surrounding area believe it and offer credible stories from family and friends of seeing beams stamped Pokesudie, New Brunswick that were already made for the smelter when the location was changed.
The biggest mystery on Pokesudie is the Chemin Mystérieux. The road was built by the army during the World War II and the army never gave a reason for its construction. The mystery is why the road was built. The road is a short cut but would only save a few minutes if it were paved versus the existing road. Some people remember stories that the road was built in a day.
One of the rumors about the Mysterious Road is the military was building a secret air-strip. Another rumor is the army wanted easier access to shore in case of German U-boats. There are also rumors that the road was built for the proposed smelter and port, but the timeline doesn't add up on those because the road was built in the 1940's and the smelter and port were built in the 1960's.
The road is unpaved and runs through the woods. It has been used as a make-out parking spot by teens and a short cut for drivers and walkers through the years.